Mike Kosek, M.Sc.

E-Mail: kosek[AT]in.tum.de
Phone: +49 89 289-18665
Office: 01.05.038

TUM Department of Informatics
Chair of Connected Mobility (I11)
Boltzmannstr. 3
85748 Garching

Research Interests

  • Transport Protocols
  • Congestion Control
  • Internet Architecture
  • Internet Measurements

Open Thesis Topics

If you are interested in one of the thesis topics, feel free to contact me for more details. 

  • No open topics atm

You can also contact me if you have a topic in mind that is not listed but aligns with my research area.

Other thesis and research topics are listed here


Make sure to visit my Google Scholar or ORCID page.


  • ECN with QUIC: Challenges in the Wild. IMC 2023. Constantin Sander, Ike Kunze, Leo Blöcher, Mike Kosek, Klaus Wehrle
  • Secure Middlebox-Assisted QUIC. IFIP Networking 2023. Mike Kosek, Benedikt Spies, Jörg Ott
  • Web Privacy By Design: Evaluating Cross-layer Interactions of QUIC, DNS and H/3. IFIP Networking 2023. Jayasree Sengupta, Mike Kosek, Justus Fries, Pratyush Dikshit, Vaibhav Bajpai
  • Evaluating DNS Resiliency with Truncation, Fragmentation and DoTCP Fallback. IFIP Networking 2023. Pratyush Dikshit, Mike Kosek, Nils Faulhaber, Jayasree Sengupta, Vaibhav Bajpai


  • DNS Privacy with Speed? Evaluating DNS over QUIC and its Impact on Web Performance. IMC 2022. Mike Kosek, Luca Schumann, Robin Marx, Trinh Viet Doan, Vaibhav Bajpai
  • Exploring Proxying QUIC and HTTP/3 for Satellite Communication. IFIP Networking 2022. Mike Kosek, Hendrik Cech, Vaibhav Bajpai, Jörg Ott
  • Measuring DNS over TCP in the Era of Increasing DNS Response Sizes: A View from the Edge. CCR April 2022. Mike Kosek, Trinh Viet Doan, Simon Huber, Vaibhav Bajpai
  • One to Rule them All? A First Look at DNS over QUIC. PAM 2022. Mike Kosek, Trinh Viet Doan, Malte Granderath, Vaibhav Bajpai


  • Beyond QUIC v1: A First Look at Recent Transport Layer IETF Standardization Efforts. COMMAG April 2021. Mike Kosek, Tanya Shreedhar, Vaibhav Bajpai


  • MUST, SHOULD, DON'T CARE: TCP Conformance in the Wild. PAM 2020. Mike Kosek, Leo Blöcher, Jan Rüth, Torsten Zimmermann, Oliver Hohlfeld