Forschung: Lehrstuhl für Nachrichtentechnik

Coding and Modulation

Efficient communication requires higher order modulation and error control codes. We are approaching the theoretical limits by implementing Shannon‘s blueprint. Two key concepts are probabilistic shaping and quantized message passing to reduce transmitter power and receiver complexity. We design and implement state-of-the-art low-density parity-check (LDPC) and polar codes and decoders over binary and non-binary fields. We test our prototypes in close collaboration with industry.

Currently working in this area:

  • Emna Ben Yacoub
  • Delcho Donev
  • Mustafa Karaǧöz
  • Tobias Prinz
  • Constantin Runge
  • Alexander Sauter
  • Yusuf Şener
  • Thomas Wiegart
  • Ayman Zahr

Information Theory and Algorithms

We are developing information theory and algorithms for signal processing problems such as machine learning for communications. As the need for secure communications increases, we concentrate on privacy and secrecy related topics. We further investigate non-standard topics such as directed information and identification.

Currently working in this area:

  • Francesca Diedolo
  • Abdalla Ibrahim
  • Diego Lentner
  • Daniel Plabst

Wireless, Optical, and Quantum Communications

Two key technologies to increase data rates are multi-input, multi-output (MIMO) and space-division multiplexing (SDM). For wireless, massive MIMO uses hundreds of antennas with simplified signal processing, and joint communications and sensing enables efficient internode communication and control. For optical fiber, waveform propagation is described by a non-linear Schrödinger equation (NLSE) and receiver performance can be improved by machine learning. We are further studying information theory for quantum communications.

Currently working in this area:

  • Hooman Asgari
  • Francesca Diedolo
  • Yutong Han
  • Alex Jäger
  • Mohammad Mahvari
  • Andreas Straßhofer
  • Lorenzo Zaniboni