| PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology (JLT) Paper Award for Fabian Steiner, Georg Böcherer, and Patrick Schulte

Fabian Steiner, Georg Böcherer, and Patrick Schulte have won the 2019 IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology (JLT) Paper Award for their publication "Rate adaptation and reach increase by probabilistically shaped 64-QAM: an experimental demonstration" that appeared in April 2016. The paper proposes a transmission system with adjustable data rate for optical fiber that enables high-speed communication close to the Shannon limit. The system is based on Georg, Patrick, and Fabian's probabilistic…

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

ITG Dissertation Award for Tobias Fehenberger

Our alumnus Tobias Fehenberger received the 2018 dissertation award of the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the German Association of Electrical Engineering, Electronics, and Information Technology e.V. (VDE) for his thesis "Analysis and Optimization of Coded Modulation for Nonlinear Fiber-Optic Communication Systems". The supervisor was Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Hanik. Each year, three theses from the field of communications engineering are awarded the prize. The award ceremony took place…

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

ERC Starting Grant für Prof. Antonia Wachter-Zeh

The European Research Council (ERC) has awarded a Starting Grant to Antonia Wachter-Zeh. Her project inCREASE (Coding for Security and DNA Storage) deals with protecting data from unauthorized access and errors. For example, advances in quantum computers could mean that current encryption methods may soon be insecure. Prof. Wachter-Zeh is working on new encryption methods using algebraic codes that could help to block this threat. A second application of her research is storing data efficiently…

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

IEEE Information Theory Society Paper Award for Mansoor Yousefi and Frank Kschischang

Former TUM-LNT Postdoc Mansoor Yousefi and TUM Ambassador Frank Kschischang have won the 2018 IEEE Information Theory Society (ITSoc) Paper Award for their three-part paper on "Information Transmission using the nonlinear Fourier Transform (NFT)," published in the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory in July 2014. The ITSoc Paper Award is given annually for an outstanding publication in the fields of interest to ITSoc appearing anywhere during the preceding four calendar years. The goal of…

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

Fulbright Scholarship for Andreas Lenz

Andreas Lenz received the Fulbright Scholarship for Doctoral Candidates. The scholarship supports and funds research stays with a duration between 4 and 6 months at an American University. With this scholarship, Andreas will visit the University of California, San Diego in spring 2019 for a research project in collaboration with Prof. Paul Siegel, who is chair of the Center for Memory and Recording Research. Link: …

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

TUM's Shapecomm wins Space Industry Competition

On June 5 in Berlin, Fabian Steiner and Patrick Schulte of LNT and Shapecomm were selected as the overall winner of the INNOspace Masters competition

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis für Prof. Antonia Wachter-Zeh

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) zeichnet Antonia Wachter-Zeh, Professorin für Codierung für Kommunikation und Datenspeicherung, mit dem Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis 2018 aus. Wachter-Zeh forscht und unterrichtet seit 2016 an der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Ihre Forschung zu neuen Algorithmen verbindet Ingenieurwissenschaften, Informatik und Mathematik.

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kötter Gedächtnispreis für Tobias Prinz

Tobias Prinz erhält für seine herausragende Masterarbeit am Lehrstuhl für Nachrichtentechnik mit dem Titel "Polar Codes for Higher-Order Modulation and Probabilistic Amplitude Shaping" den Prof. Dr. Ralf Kötter Gedächtnispreis. Der mit 500 Euro dotierte Preis ist nach dem 2009 verstorbenen TUM-Ordinarius für Nachrichtentechnik Ralf Kötter benannt. Die Masterarbeit wurde an verschiedenen IEEE Konferenzen präsentiert, unter anderem auf dem 2017 IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Advances in…

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

Johann-Philipp-Reis Award for Georg Böcherer

Dr. Georg Böcherer of the Chair of Communications Engineering of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) is the recipient of the Johann-Philipp-Reis Award of the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the German Association of Electrical Engineering, Electronics, and Information Technology e.V. (VDE).

| Auszeichnungen, PAGE:TUMvCard-nen, PAGE:TUMvCard-ce

IEEE Graduate Student Fellowship for Tobias Fehenberger

Tobias Fehenberger has been awarded a Graduate Student Fellowship Award by the IEEE Photonics Society for his “very impressive accomplishments and academic record”. Tobias will receive his award during the Awards Banquet of the IEEE Photonics Conference in Florida, USA, in October 2017. The Graduate Student Fellowship Program provides fellowships to outstanding IEEE Photonics Society student members based on their research excellence and contributions to IEEE publications and conferences. Just…