Workshop on Information Theory and Related Fields

In Memory of Ning Cai

Sadly, our esteemed colleague and friend Ning Cai passed away on 25th May, 2023. For this reason, Ingo Althöfer, Holger Boche, Christian Deppe, Jens Stoye, Ulrich Tamm, Andreas Winter, and Raymond Yeung are organising the “Workshop on Information Theory and Related Fields” in memory of Ning Cai at the Bielefeld ZiF (Center for Interdisciplinary Research) from 24th November to 26th November, 2023.

Registration for Online Participation

If you cannot participate in person, we add now the possibility to participate online. As online participant you can online listen to the talks on Friday and Saturday. It is not possible to participate active in the workshop. You will get a Zoom link where you can follow the talks and discussions. Please register for online participation here:



Friday:       8:30 - 19:00 (scientific program at ZIF),

Saturday:   9:00 - 18:00 (scientific program at ZIF),

Sunday:    11:00 - 14:00 (social event at Hotel Mercure Johannesberg).

It is therefore advisable to arrive on Thursday evening and leave on Sunday afternoon.

Paper Submission(Deadline: End of February)

We are are preparing an extended version of lecture notes for Computer science (LNCS). Scientifc texts and memorial texts are welcome for submission. For submission please follow the submission link:

Confirmed Participants

  • Andrea Grigorescu       (Technical University of Munich)
  • Andreas Winter            (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
  • Anshul Singhal             (Technical University of Munich)
  • Aparna Sivakumar
  • Ark Modi                       (Technical University of Munich)
  • Benedikt Baier              (Technical University of Munich)
  • Bernhard Balkenhol      (Vitroconnect GmbH)
  • Caspar von Lengerke   (Technical University of Dresden)
  • Christian Deppe            (Technical University of Munich)
  • Christian Kleinewächter (Vitroconnect GmbH)
  • Christoph Hirche*          (National University of Singapore)
  • Eduard Jorswieck*         (Technical University of Braunschweig)
  • Evagoras Stylianou        (Technical University of Munich)
  • Ferdinando Cicalese*     (University of Verona)
  • Florian Seitz                   (Technical University of Munich)
  • Frank Fitzek*                  (Technical University of Dresden)
  • Gisbert Janßen               ()
  • Gyula OH Katona*          (Alfred Renyi Institute, Hungary)
  • Gerhard Kramer              (Technical University of Munich)
  • Holger Boche                  (Technical University of Munich)
  • Ilia Vorobev                     (Technical University of Munich)
  • Ingo Althöfer*                   (University of Jena)
  • Janis Nötzel                    (Technical University of Munich)
  • Jens Stoye                      (University of Bielefeld)
  • Juan Cabrera                  (Technical University of Dresden)
  • Julia Kunzelmann           (Heinrich-Heine-University of Düsseldorf)
  • Jyun-Sian Wu                 (Technical University of Braunschweig)
  • Johannes Rosenberger  (Technical University of Munich)
  • Johannes Voichtleitner   (Technical University of Munich)
  • Jonathan Huffmann        (Technical University of Munich)
  • Marcel Mross                 (Technical University of Braunschweig)
  • Masahito Hayashi*         (Nagoya University)
  • Minglai Cai                     (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
  • Moritz Wiese                  (Technical University of Munich)
  • Olaf Gröscho                 (Technical University of Munich)
  • Pere Munar Vallespir     (Technical University of Munich)
  • Péter L. Erdős*              (Alfred Renyi Institute, Hungary)
  • Pin-Hsun Lin                 (Technical University of Braunschweig)
  • Raymond W. Yeung*      (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Rami Ezzine                   (Technical University of Munich)
  • Roberto Ferrara             (Technical University of Munich)
  • Shahram Dehdashti       (Technical University of Munich)
  • Sifat Rezwan                 (Technical University of Dresden)
  • Tobias Oechtering         (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
  • Ugo Vaccaro*                (University of Salerno)
  • Ulrich Tamm                  (Applied University of Bielefeld)
  • Wafa Labidi                   (Technical University of Munich)
  • Han Vinck*                    (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Vlad-Costin Andrei        (Technical University of Munich)  
  • Vladimir Blinovsky*       (Universidade Federal de Sao Paulo)
  • Vladimir Sidorenko       (Technical University of Munich)
  • Xinyang Li                    (Technical University of Munich)
  • Yair Be'ery                   (Tel Aviv University)
  • Yannik Böck                 (Technical University of Munich)
  • Yanlin Chen*                 (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Zsuzsanna Lipták*        (University of Verona)
  • Zuhra Amiri                   (Technical University of Munich)

Footnote: Attendees designated with an asterisk (*) are scheduled to deliver presentations during the workshop.

Poster Presentations

  • Algorithmic Computability of the Capacity of Additive Colored Gaussian Noise Channels (Grigorescu)
  • Capacity Bounds for Identification with Effective Secrecy (Ibrahim)
  • Computing Functions over Channels and connections to (K-)identification (Rosenberger)
  • Correcting one error in channels with feedback (Vorobyev)
  • Functional Compression for goal-oriented communication in control applications (Rezwan)
  • Joint Identification and Sensing for Discrete Memoryless Channels (Labidi)
  • Minimal Trellises for Decoding Quantum Stabilizer Codes (Stylianou)
  • Network Coding in Molecular Communication Networks (Cabrera)
  • Pointwise Maximal Leakage (Oechtering)
  • Practical Perspectives on ID Codes (von Lengerke)
  • Randomized Identification codes (Ferrara)
  • Scalability of the repeater rate in multipartite quantum networks (Kunzelmann)
  • Simulation-based analysis of delay-reducing quantum repeater protocols (Baier)
  • Source Identification (Gröscho)
  • Testing of Hybrid Quantum-Classical K-Means for Nonlinear Noise Mitigation (Modi)
  • Unified Framework for Capacity-Distortion Trade-Offs in Integrated Sensing and Communications (Li)
  • Wiener Predection Theory is not Effective (Boche)

Further Information

If you need financial support, please contact:

We will prepare a memorial collection in memory of Ning Cai, to be published by Springer Verlag. For this, we ask for the submission of surveys and research papers; but also stories about Ning, about the joint work or even anecdotes are welcome. Please send submissions to the following email:

If you are unable to attend the memorial workshop in memory of Ning Cai, we welcome videos in his memory of up to two minutes duration. We will show a compilation of the videos during the workshop.


Accommodations nearby are Mercure Hotel Bielefeld Johannisberg, Hotel Bartsch and Hotel Stadt Bremen.

Another option is to book a hotel downtown near the town rail (Stadtbahn). The town rail goes to the university and from there it takes 10 minutes to walk to ZIF: